top of page
  • Coty

Board Game Apocalypse: 5 Games to Survive With

It's Topic Tuesday, and the hoarders among us (me!) are facing a terrible question: If the apocalypse hit and you could only save five board games, which ones would they be? Let's be real, in a perfect world, I'd smuggle my entire collection into a hidden bunker. But for this thought experiment, let't explore the five that would provide comfort (and competition) in the face of this dystopian nightmare. I'm focusing this decision on games that would play well at two players because . . . well . . . there's no one better to play board games with at any time on any day than my wife. I love large gatherings and games like Blood on the Clocktower, but taking into account total plays and the games that I know I would never get tired of playing with just my partner, I would keep:


  1. The Game by Pandasaurus Games which plays 1-5 players in about ~20 minutes. This cooperative game is the perfect example of "easy to learn, just enough luck, and tough to master." The game is short, frantic, and requires clever communication. Keeping it in line with this dystopian nightmare and post-apocalyptic scenario, this is the perfect team building exercise before venturing out for a supply run. Apocalyptic scenario aside, this is a game that you just can't play once. After all the plays, we have only won 21%. We usually have 10 or less cards left. After five years of playing this game, I'm still addicted, and I can't wait to start chanting "AGAIN!" after losing a round

  2. Sometimes, you just need a chill game night after dodging rogue weather drones and battling over the last can of beans. But wait, am I getting carried away and thinking about a different game? Welcome To... by Blue Cocker Games, has a puzzle mechanism that is addicting. It also has a few modifications to make the game a bit harder and more competitive. There are enough plans to keep the game fresh, so the replayability is definitely there. The delicate balance between building the perfect street and racing to get to the points first is so compelling, and there's no single way to win. Besides, who doesn't love building tiny, gossipy neighborhoods in about 20 minutes in their living room? Also, forget about building a pool – there's no room for that in your new post-apocalyptic life! This game plays well at every count (allegedly you can play it with up to 100 friends). At least every count, I have played. Never tried it at more than 10 players. Have you?

  3. Carcassonne a 2-5 players that takes less than ~45 minutes by Hans im Glück. I would have to keep this game with the newest expansion Mists over Carcassonne. I love this tile-laying classic. It offes endless puzzle-solving goodness. If you get too competitive, add the Mist expansion and play cooperatively. If the world became post-apocalyptic, the Halloween vibe would feel very relatable, especially when working together to survive

  4. Trailblazers by Bitewing Games plays 1-8 players, but for a post-apocalypitic world, I would definitely keep the travel version that plays up to four. I love this game for its fast and simultaneous play. The game plays over four rounds in under 30 minutes. The in and end game bonuses always seem deceptively simple, but they never work out quite the way you plan. In my head, it usually goes something like this: "Yes, I'll make this bike lane here, and the hike trail there . . . but then the cards I need don't come. It may be easier to eat a spork."

  5. Rounding out my post-apocalyptic game night essentials, I'd have to grab Spirit Island by Greater Than Games, LLC. This crunchy game can take up to two hours, and it plays one to four players. Where to start? Beautiful art, massive replayability, varied difficulty levels, and a co-op game that discourages quarterbacking with simultaneous play. Minimal downtime and constant anticipation about what's coming next in the invader deck. Speaking of invaders, in a world ravaged by who-knows-what, the thematic undertones of Spirit Island hit a little too close to home. Here, you play as powerful spirits, defending your island from colonial invaders. In a post-apocalyptic world, where are the dahans? Maybe Spirit Island isn't just a game; perhaps it's a portal to a world untouched, a way to escape the harsh reality and reclaim the board game collection of my dreams.


So, that's my top five hoard-worthy board games for a post-apocalyptic world! These five essentials play well at two and can be played with more. I feel that these games have a nice mix of mechanics, difficulty, and playtime. What about you? What games would make the cut for your theoretical nightmare?

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page