top of page
  • Coty

My Love Affair with Stonemaier Games

Coty with a few of her Stonemaier games

When it comes to board games, Stonemaier Games holds a special place in my heart. From the moment we brought Wingspan into our home, it became a cherished part of our collection. This beautiful game (1-5 players, 60-75 minutes) was our escape during the early days of lockdown, and it completely transformed our board game collection. At the time, we had about 40 games. A few copies of different Monopoly, Clue, Scrabble, Bananagrams, Rummikub, Scrawl, Catan, Ticket to Ride, etc.


Wingspan led us beyond modern classic favorites like Catan and Pandemic. This opened the door to a world of strategic delights. I love playing Wingspan. My wife plays it solo from time to time. I prefer to play it with just the two of us or with group of friends. The only count I dislike is 6 or 7 with the Asia expansion. It becomes too chaotic, and in our group it takes too long. I used to make fun of my in-laws for identifying birds in the wild, we are now able to do the same with a surprising number thanks to this game!


Our second Stonemaier game was Viticulture (2-6 players, 60-90 minutes). Give me a glass of wine, some charcuterie and cheese, good company, and this game, and I'm in absolute heaven!


Our latest obsession? Rolling Realms! This game's addictiveness is undeniable, especially with the constant thrill of new promo packs. The only downside? It fuels a never-ending desire to explore and acquire more games (don't judge me!). Skulk Hollow, Fleet, and Libertalia are just a few that found their way onto our shelves after playing promo packs.


Libertalia game

Speaking of Libertalia, this game by Paolo Mori has been hitting the table a lot since we acquired it from our favorite local store. The game plays 2-5 players and it takes about 45 minutes to play. I really enjoy the game at every count. I think the more players the more chaos, and I love it. The combination of stunning Azul looking tiles and the satisfying clink of the metal coins (an upgrade that is totally worth it) makes it a joy to hold, not to mention play.


What I like best about this game is that everyone has the same cards each round. This adds a surprising layer of complexity.


Stonemaier Games truly stands out for me. Their games boast high-quality, durable components, clear and easy-to-follow rulebooks, and gameplay that's endlessly engaging. The best part? We've only scratched the surface of their incredible library. What should we buy next?

Comentários


bottom of page