top of page
  • Coty

2024 so far in review

2024 thus far

What are your hobbies? For things that I share with others, hockey and board games are on the top of the list. In fact, I have spent a quarter of 2024 rolling dice, moving meeples, and enjoying board gaming with friends and family.


I do dabble in some online gaming on Board Game Arena (BGA); however, I don’t count those in this stats. We have started playing on BGA with friends that have moved away and family that lives very, very far, so I may add BGA to my stats as long as there was a zoom involved.


I’ve clocked in a whopping 751 games this year. According to the average time it takes to play each of the games, I've sunk about 446 hours into the hobby and 175 days. But let's be real, that doesn't count the endless banter, chats, and laughter. So, in reality, it’s probably closer to 25% of my year dedicated to board game glory. Winning? Well, let's just say I'm still working on my victory dance. My win rate is a respectable 34.9% (that's about 10% increase from 2023), but I suspect most of those wins come from cooperative games.


I've been lucky enough to play with 51 different people at least twice. My most dedicated gaming partner? My amazing wife, who's suffered through a staggering 528 games with me.


We’ve also managed to squeeze in 198 different games, with 115 new to me games. It’s like discovering a new world of cardboard and plastic every few weeks! Our promise to keep or cull to maintain the collection at 500 or less has been accomplished thus far. We're currently at 482 games. This does not count expansions. We have 141 of those. We are huge into 3D printing, so most of these live in the original box. The only games that have multiple boxes are: Root, Spirit Island, Wingspan, Everdell, and Viticulture.


Our current h-index is 32. We started the year with 29. Can we go up on the h-index this year? I find it extremely fascinating that there are games that we've played hundreds of times versus amazing games that only hit the table a few times a year if we are lucky. For the year, we have an h-index of 14.


Shame of shelf? A bit unruly this year. We have 62 games sitting there, untouched. We’ve gotta change that! To be fair, we had a shopping spree while everyone seemed to be at GenCon.


TL:DR;

751 total games played

145 new to me games

115 unique games played

175 days played

59 unique players

My percentage wins: 34.9%

The wife's percentage wins: 36%


Top 10 most played:

  1. Welcome To . . .

  2. Turing Machine

  3. The Crew

  4. Next Station (London/Paris/Tokyo)

  5. Azul

  6. Number Drop

  7. Sequence

  8. Mists over Carcassone

  9. Just One

  10. Farkle


Last year, my top five were slightly different:

  1. The Game

  2. Welcome To . . .

  3. Clever series

  4. Next Station (London/Tokyo)

  5. The Crew


Goals for the remaining of the year? Tackle the unplayed games, keep the collection under 500 games owned, and continue enjoying games with our loved ones.


Cheers to many more game nights and even more ridiculous stats! What about you? 

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page